United Kingdom-Day 15-Back to Los Angeles

All good things must come to an end and so was the case with our fortnight in the United Kingdom. As my husband and I ate breakfast and showered we were both sad that our trip was coming to an end, anxious about returning home to uncertainty in a family and work lives but still grateful that we had been able to take such a memorable trip.

SAM_1474

 

After checking out of our hotel we walked to the tube station.

20180406_104727

Thankfully, our train line took us straight to the airport without having to transfer.

SAM_1475

Once we were checked for our flight and through security, we decided to enjoy one last sit down meal. Since I had yet to have it on this trip, I decided to get Shepard’s Pie.

20180406_124838

Facing the ten-hour plane ride back to Los Angeles I was determined to not get dehydrated, so I purchased to large bottles of water.

 

20180406_145332

Then it was time to get on our plane…. or so I thought. While my husband and I were waiting to board our flight, I got called for a random security screening. I was very annoyed by this at first. When it all was said and done it wasn’t a big deal, but it proved to be a plus and a minus. The minus is that my husband and I didn’t get to board the flight together. Another minus is that while I was having my random security check my husband had a celebrity sighting. He saw Natalie Dormer. I was bummed that I missed seeing her. I am big fan of her work on “The Tutors” and “Game of Thrones”. The plus of my random security check was that I got to board the plane early, even before first class.

20180406_154049

That was cool.

 

The plane ride back was long but at the end of the day it wasn’t bad. I was hydrated and entertained. I had planned on watching “Snatched” which I had started but wasn’t able to finish on our flight from Los Angeles to London two weeks earlier. Unfortunately, it was no longer an option to watch it. Instead I watched “Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool”. The movie was good and Annette Bening and Jamie Bell both did a great job.

 

As is usually the case getting through immigration at LAX was a nightmare. On our trip we had been to England, Scotland, Wales and France but the country that made us feel the least welcome upon arrival was the United States. Once we finally through the nightmare of LAX we got a taxi and headed home.

 

When I am away, I only really miss two things. My bed and my cat. Seeing my baby girl always makes me happy. As always, I bought a lot of souvenirs to remember my trip.

SAM_1483

Even though I have been to the United Kingdom two years in a row I would go back again in a heartbeat.

 

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.


Leave a comment