London-Day 7

When I woke up on the seventh day of our trip to London the scratch at the top of my mouth was gone and had been replaced with a tickle in my throat. Looking back I was going through all of my textbook stages of getting a cold but I was still in some serious denial. I felt fine. I kept telling myself that it was just an irritation and that I was just dehydrated. I think if I had been at home and not on vacation I would have admitted the truth to myself and my husband but who wants to be sick on their vacation?

I once again made eggs for breakfast which was a lot easier than it had been the day before since I now knew how to use the stove top in our kitchen. After breakfast we showered and headed out for the day.

For the seventh day of our trip we were heading out of the city. We took the tube to the end of the line in Wimbledon and then transferred to another above ground train.

SAM_7418

We didn’t realize it at the time but much like our trip to The Making of Harry Potter our oyster cards were being drained much quicker than we had anticipated.

Our destination was Hampton Court Palace which is located Southwest of London. When we got off the train we began the short walk to the palace.

SAM_7428

We have been fortunate to visit other Royal Palaces on our travels. Such as Versailles in France 2012.

SAM_2023

And Sans Succi in Germany in 2013.

SAM_5858

However, we were especially excited to visit this one since it was originally built for King Henry VIII.

SAM_7441

This is something that would have made us interested no matter what but our interest was even more heightened after learning the night before that our friend was of Tutor descent. Fortunately, our London pass paid for our entrance. After getting our tickets we wondered around the free area for a bit first.

SAM_7454

Our first stop among the attractions that were covered by our ticket was a hedge maze.

SAM_7472

Back in 2015 we had a hedge maze experience in Barcelona ruined by some obnoxious German children.

SAM_1550

Thankfully that didn’t happen this time. We really enjoyed our hedge maze experience.

SAM_7478

It was challenging enough to make it fun but not so challenging that it got us annoyed.

SAM_7483

After exiting the hedge maze we wondered around an area called the wilderness for a bit.

20170406_125455

Then it was time to actually head into the palace.

SAM_7495

The first part of the palace we saw was the original part that had been built for King Henry VIII.

SAM_7501

It was very beautiful.

SAM_7507

The audio guide also gave us a lot of really interesting information about life during the reign of King Henry VIII.

SAM_7515

Naturally we took lots of pictures.

SAM_7531

When we were done with the original part of the palace we moved onto the “newer” parts that he been built by the Kings of the 1600s and 1700s.

SAM_7548

As with the Tutor wing the audio guide filled us in on a lot of great history as we explored these rooms.

SAM_7553

Although I wasn’t as familiar with Kings like George I and George II it was still fascinating to learn about them and see all the rooms they lived in.

SAM_7559

Although these rooms are hundreds of years old I could tell that they were newer than the rooms of the Tutor wing were. We loved our time inside Hampton Court Palace.

SAM_7575

But we did want to make sure we got plenty of time in the gardens too so before too long we said good-bye to the inside of the beautiful Royal Palace and headed out to the Royal Gardens.

SAM_7582

The gardens of Hampton Court palace were absolutely stunning.

SAM_7602

As much as I loved the inside of the palace I loved the gardens even more. Although there were other people there it wasn’t crowded which made it really nice. We took lots of pictures of the beautiful gardens.

SAM_7622

A section called the Privy Gardens were my favorite part.

SAM_7641

I never wanted to leave the Privy Gardens.

SAM_7651

While we were wondering the amazing gardens I commented to my husband on what a gorgeous day it was. In fact it was a little too gorgeous. I worry that that warm days we had in England in April are a sign of climate change. While that made our vacation nice I fear for what it means in the long term. One unexpected bonus while visiting the gardens was seeing the world’s longest grapevine which has been around the time of King George III.

SAM_7693

It is crazy to think that that grapevine is as old as the United States of America. The last part of the gardens was called the 20th Century Garden.

SAM_7704

Although it wasn’t the prettiest garden we had it all to ourselves which made the experience extra special. We stayed in the gardens of Hampton Court until the last possible minute. By that time we were virtually the only ones there, so it was like they belonged to us.

SAM_7710

But, alas, they did not belong to us so we had to leave. We were, of course, sad to leave Hampton Court.

SAM_7713

We rode the train back to Wimbledon and then transferred to the tube to get back to our hotel. We stopped by the grocery store by our tube stop to buy some more of their delicious premade quiches since we had eaten all of our breakfast items from our first trip to the store.

When we got back to our hotel room we were hungry. Since we had already spent the day far away we decided to stick as close to our room as possible for dinner. That meant returning to the restaurant that was right under out hotel. I had a delicious sea-bass dish.

SAM_7721

Meanwhile my husband enjoyed a salmon dish.

SAM_7723

We also split a dessert.

SAM_7724

It had been a great day filled with wonderful history. However, my throat still bothering me despite the many vitamin c drops I had sucked on that day, but I was still in major denial that I was actually getting sick.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.

Leave a Reply

