Passengers

Back on New Year’s Eve day my husband and I went to see “Passengers”.

share

Going into the movie we knew the basics of the plot and it seemed interesting but the real reason we saw it was for the two stars. We both adore Academy Award Winner Jennifer Lawrence and the ever so sexy and ever so charismatic Chris Pratt. After seeing the movie I am both glad and not glad that I didn’t know more about the plot going into the movie. I’m glad I didn’t know more about the plot because I’m not sure I would have seen the movie had I known more about the plot and I was entertained for two hours.

passengers1

At the same time I wish I had known more about the plot because I feel like a major plot point was left out of the marketing and I didn’t go in really knowing what I was getting myself into and I do feel a little dirty, even after a month and a half, that I was entertained by the movie.

Make no mistake Lawrence and Pratt have great chemistry together. She has an amazing way of commanding the screen.

tumblr_ojc1jeucjj1unxdtmo1_1280

Meanwhile, Pratt just oozes charm. However, that can only get you so much when their entire relationship basically begins with him ruining her life. Stop reading now if you don’t want further spoilers…The fact the we wakes her because he is lonely and he has invested her as her fantasy is basically endorsing the idea that a man can do whatever he wants to a woman without her consent because he is charming. Pratt is so amazing to look at but let’s get real if his character was played by an ugly man nobody would stand for what his character does. And the fact that he never really pays for his sins and in the end she just gives up everything she’s ever wanted to be with him is just plain gross. I feel like “Passengers” had the potential to be a much better movie. I could have been a dark psychological/sci-fi thriller, it could have been a story of revenge or it could have been a story of redemption but it’s none of those things. Instead it’s kind of gross endorsement of rape culture…Still, it is worth noting that only one of the film’s stars is naked and since it is Chris Pratt it does gain some points for physically objectifying its male star instead of its female star.

pratt-ass

Also the fact that Jennifer Lawrence gets top billing for a supporting role is a nice change for an industry that almost always gives men top billing even if the movie isn’t about them.

As charming as the two lead actors, and Michael Sheen is good in a supporting role, are I can’t endorse or recommend this film. It’s really not worth your time; unless you’re looking to write an essay about how wrong Hollywood Studio films can get gender roles and romanticize a relationship that really is nothing more than glorified Stockholm syndrome.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.

Leave a Reply

