Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Back on December 22nd I went to see “Rouge One: A Star Wars Story” with my mom.

mv5bmjewmzmxodizov5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzg3otazmdi-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

Just like the previous year with “The Force Awakens” I didn’t rush out to see “Rouge One” right away because I have seen every Star Wars movie with my mom since I was  a little kid and we once again made the commitment to wait to see it together. Since I live in Los Angeles and she lives in Denver it can take a bit of patience to make sure we see the movies together in the theater.

Before seeing the movie I had taken to calling it “Star Wars 3.5” since the events take  place between “Revenge of the Sith” and “A New Hope”. I have to say that I liked the movie but I didn’t love it. In fact, of the eight Star Wars film I would rank it 6th behind “Revenge of the Sith” but ahead of “The Phantom Menace” and “Attack of the Clones”. I think the biggest problem with the film is the simple fact that you know what is going to happen. You know that the plans for how to destroy the Death Star are going to be able to be delivered to Princess Lea.

an1_ff_018

Since you  know how the film is going to end it’s a matter of execution, and the execution is fine, nothing bad but nothing amazing either. I know a lot of people love this movie but I didn’t. I just didn’t find any of the characters fully realized. Although their actions are important to the original trilogy in terms of getting the plans to Princess Lea to destroy the death star the fact that their names were never mentioned in “A New Hope” showed me that the film really is what I thought it was all along…A greedy effort by Disney to milk Star Wars for all it’s worth. Not to mention I think that it not having an opening crawl really set this film apart from the other seven films and not in a good way.

The performances are fine. Once again it’s great to see the Star Wars films giving such a strong role to a female character. Academy Award nominee Felicity Jones as Jyn Eros is solid as is Diego Luna and the rest of the cast but let’s get real you don’t see a Star Wars film for the amazing acting.

rogue-one-jyn

I’m glad I saw the film but it’s a month later and I don’t remember all that much about it. I think I might enjoy it more on a second viewing but even then I will probably still think of the film a place holder as we all wait for Episode 8. I’m sure everybody who was interested in seeing the movie has already seen it but if you are more casual Star Wars fan who hasn’t seen it yet it’s worth your time just don’t expect too much.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.

Leave a Reply

