Bridget Jones’s Baby

On Friday night I went to see “Bridget Jones’s Baby”.

bridget-jones-poster-01

When I first heard that Helen Fielding had written a third Bridget Jones book I thought it might be overkill for the beloved character. I really thought it might be a mistake when I heard that Renee Zellweger and Colin Firth had signed onto a third Bridget Jones film that wasn’t even based on the third book but instead on more of a Bridget Jones 2.5 storyline that had been invented to fall between the events of the second and third book. But as the movie grew nearer to its release date I found myself curious to see what the film might be like. Then I received a text message from my mom (who I saw the first film with back in 2001) telling me that she and my sister loved the film and I was sold.

I have to say I had mild expectations going in. I adored 2001’s “Bridget Jones’s Diary” and I liked but didn’t love 2004’s “Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason” so I feared that “Bridget Jones’s Baby” might be another step down.

p35099_p_v7_ai

I had no reason to worry. Not only is “Bridget Jones’s Baby” better than “Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason” but it seriously gives the first film a run for its money. I laughed basically from beginning to end and I even cried at the end. This film takes a character that we love and successfully moves her ten years ahead in life to a place that would make sense for her to be at. I could totally relate to many of the mid-life challenges that Bridget faces in terms of how her work life and how the relationships with her friends has changed.

I think that Renee Zellweger’s fame it its peak after the first Bridget Jones film. For some reason, that I never really understood, audiences began to turn on her around the time of 2002’s “Chicago”. I think that the fact she has been absent from the screen for half a decade reflects a couple of things. One, is the challenge all actresses face when they turn forty but also because the public seemed to turn on her for no reason other than she did too good of a job playing Roxy Hart and she got too skinny. I never turned on her but I also didn’t realize how much I missed seeing her on screen until I saw this film. Zellweger is so comfortable with this character that it brings out all of her best attributes as an actress.

bridget-jones-gallery-01

Not only did I love the film but I loved Zellweger’s performance. Her chemistry with Colin Firth remains intact.

640_colin_firth_bridget_jones_baby

The dynamic between Bridget Jones and Mark Darcy is one that isn’t always easy but one that is based on a deep affection for each other that you can’t help but root for. The subtraction of Hugh Grant as Daniel Cleaver and the addition of Patrick Dempsey as a rich American named Jack Qwant is a good one.

640_patrick_dempsey_bridget_jones_baby

It prevents the film from repeating the original love triangle again which gives both Bridget and Mark a new variable in their relationship equation. Patrick Dempsey is charming and works as a good foil to Firth. I also enjoyed the small role from Emma Thompson as Bridget’s OBGYN.

Obviously, I highly, highly recommend “Bridget Jones’s Baby” to anybody who liked the first two Bridget Jones films, Academy Award winners Renee Zellweger and Colin Firth or Patrick Dempsey. It’s already disappearing from theaters so go check it out now while you still can.

 

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.

Leave a Reply

