Finding Dory

A few weeks ago I went to see “Finding Dory” with some friends.

Finding_Dory

From 1995 until 2010 I saw every Pixar movie with the exception of “Cars” but after “Toy Story 3” I just wasn’t as interested in their stuff as I had been in the past. As a result “Finding Dory” was the first Pixar movie I’ve seen in six years. It did a great job of reminding me of just how much I love their films.

One of the many things I liked about “Finding Dory” was that it had a touch of prequel to it, we find out about Dory’s childhood and how she ended up literally running into Marlin.

Sequels can be tricky business, especially sequels that come out thirteen years after the original film. An advantage that “Finding Dory” has is, of course, the fact that it’s an animated movie. Yes, the actors who are voicing the characters have aged but since the film is animated you can’t see the difference. That is a big plus since “Finding Dory” clearly picks up not long after the end of “Finding Nemo”.

videothumbnail_findingdory_disney_b330d055

Once again Albert Brooks and Ellen DeGeneres do a great job with the voices of Marlin and Dory. One change in the voice work comes with Nemo and that is because the original Nemo , Alexander Gould, is twenty-two years old and his voice has changed. Stepping into the role of Nemo is Hayden Rolence and he does a good job. I do appreciate that Alexander Gould did get another voice role and I had to laugh at the meta casting of Sigourney Weaver as herself. The movie is everything you love about a Pixar film, it made me both laugh and cry (several times).

However, as much as I enjoyed the movie I did find, for the first time, that Pixar is really dipping into the somebody is lost plot too much. I know that getting lost is a big fear for both children and their parents but at a certain point there has to be other stories to tell and between the “Toy Story” series and the “Finding” series they’ve kind of emptied the well on that story line.

toystory3-woody-dog

But that really is a minor gripe, I knew Dory was getting lost (duh, who didn’t).

I do highly, highly recommend “Finding Dory” for anybody who hasn’t seen it yet and liked “Finding Nemo”. This movie reminded me of how much I do love Pixar films, and high quality animated films in general.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/jeremyochsgonzales/

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle.

Here is a description:

Justin Gomez and his sister, Terri, have never been close. Separated by nine years and distant in adulthood, Justin and Terri have little in common, except for the love of her three children. In the days before they embark on a road trip to visit the father that once abandoned them and their now deceased mother, both Terri and Justin are dealing with unexpected changes in their lives. Justin surprisingly realizes he might want more than a series of one night stands after a first date goes unexpectedly well. After a lifetime of being a strong type A personality, Terri is forced to confront the reality of the end of her marriage. As they hit the road, with Terri’s children in tow, they find themselves forced to rely on and confide in each other following a devastating event. Confronted with memories from the past and challenges from the present, Terri and Justin must dig deep and unearth the truth about themselves and their parents in order to build a new family based on their love for each other.

 

Leave a Reply

