Hello, My Name is Doris

A couple of weeks ago I went to see “Hello, My Name is Doris”.

Hello_My_Name_is_Doris

As somebody who was a child in the 1980’s I grew up watching Sally Field at the height of her movie career. I have always loved the way that she’s able to play both comedy and drama to equal effect. Like all actresses (except for maybe Meryl Streep) the film roles have dried up for Sally once she reached the age of 50. When I first saw the trailer for “Hello, My Name is Doris” on IMDB back in the fall I knew I wanted to see it. Not only did the movie look funny but I also felt like, at the age of 69, this is probably the last leading role Sally Field will ever have in a feature film.

I am so glad I saw the movie. I absolutely LOVED it. Obviously, the film is about Doris (Sally Field) who is at a cross roads in her life.

Hello-My-Name-Is-Doris-images-e212dc1a-9116-4628-b122-993816b7379-640x360

After choosing to put her own life to the side in order to care for her aging and sick mother she finds herself without direction following her mother’s death. At the same time a new much younger co-worker named John (Max Greenfield) joins the staff at Doris office. All of a suddenly Doris is awakened by a office crush. When her best friend’s (Tyne Daly) granddaughter helps Doris find John on Facebook things get a little crazy.

HelloMyNameIsDoris_PrimroseClip

Without a doubt Doris acts like a teenager at times and she makes mistakes but she also comes alive. She finds her voice with her brother and the courage to open up to next experiences in all aspects of her life.

Perhaps knowing she may never get a role like this again Sally Field is firing on all cylinders here. She uses all the tools at her disposal and acts up a storm.

untitled

It really is a great performance and one that will remind everybody who sees the film why two time Academy Awards winner Sally Field’s career has lasted an incredible fifty years. Max Greenfield is great as John.

max-greenfield-800

He manages to find the perfect balance between being the object of Doris’s affection and a fully realized three dimensional character. Tyne Daly, is of course, also very good.

The showing of “Hello, My Name is Doris” that I went to was nearly sold out and I am utterly thrilled to see that over the last few weeks the film has continued to do quite well in limited release. It warms my heart to see that people will show up to a comedy with a heart staring a 69 year old legendary actress. If “Hello, My Name is Doris” is playing near I implore you to go see it. Not just because it was a funny and ultimately touching movie but because it is important to supporting older actresses. And who knows if this film continues to do good numbers than maybe, just maybe, there could be another leading role in a feature film for Sally Field.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

My first novel, “Missing Pieces” is available for purchase in Paperback and on the Kindle. Check it out!

4 thoughts on “Hello, My Name is Doris

  1. This film is very watchable, although I think the comedy side of things are only one part of the story. In many ways its a sad tale about the invisible woman sydrome and an overreaching lonely old maid. Do we laugh as loudly for the patriarchal Lolita syndrom? Drop in for a read of my version.

Leave a Reply

