The Woman in Gold

A couple of weeks ago I watched “The Woman in Gold” on DVD.

woman in gold

As I’ve mentioned before I don’t normally write movie review for movies I see at home but since Helen Mirren is nominated for a SAG Award I decided to make an exception.

“The Woman in Gold” is a pretty good movie. It tells the story of a Jewish woman who escapes Austria right after the Nazis invaded. Fifty years later she fights to get back famous, and very valuable, paintings that once belonged to her family but were taken by the Nazis and ended up on display at the biggest art museum in Vienna.

The woman is well played by Helen Mirren. It is a good performance but not a great performance.

thumbnail_20388

Ryan Reynolds plays her lawyer but he is seriously miscast in the role, which is too bad because it’s a good role. I think Reynolds can be effective in the right part, but this is not one of them. He tries too hard to ACT and it takes away from the quality of the movie as a whole. Daniel Bruhl is much better than Reynolds as the Austrian that is on the side of Mirren and Reynolds.

woman_in_gold_header-620x325

Katie Holms has a small role, but it’s really just a standard wife role that pretty much any actress in her thirties could have played. Charles Dance also shows up for a little bit but it’s nothing special.

I don’t regret seeing “The Woman in Gold” but I don’t think I’ll ever see it again and despite her SAG Award nomination I don’t see Helen Mirren getting an Oscar nomination for Best Actress when the nominations are announced on Thursday morning.  If you like the cast or anything related to World War 2 then “The Woman in Gold” is worth a DVD viewing, if not then don’t worry you’re not missing out on anything special.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

