The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

The day after Thanksgiving my husband and I went to see “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2”.

MV5BNjQzNDI2NTU1Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTAyMDQ5NjE@__V1_SX214_AL_

When I saw “The Hunger Games” back  in the spring of 2012 I was really  impressed. For a popcorn film I thought it was really well done. In fact I enjoyed “The Hunger Games” so much that I was inspired to read the book trilogy. I think without a doubt “The Hunger Games” book is the strongest book. However, the book that I enjoyed the most was “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”, mainly because I didn’t know what was going to happen while I was reading it. The first two books in that series, much like the first two films in the film series, are quite good. It was the third book “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay” that  I struggled with. I found the book dull, dark and worst of all  I found that the more the story left the arena the more it fell apart. The filmmakers had an uphill battle when it came to adapting the third book for the screen. Considering how weak the third book is there  is no reason that “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay” should have been split into two movies…No reason other than greed that is. 2014’s “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1” was a dramatic improvement over the first half of that book (check out my review of that film: https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-1/). So I had some medium hopes that “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2″ would be good.

As it  turns out…”The  Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2” was good. It’s not great and it’s not as  good as the first two films in the series but it is a decent and satisfying end of the film series. You don’t see films like this for great acting but without a doubt the fact that this film series has gotten Oscar winners like Jennifer Lawrence, Phillip Seymour Hoffman (this is his last film appearance and it’s hard to process that) and Julianne Moore has absolutely raised the level of the entertainment. As great as the three of them are I would have loved more screen time for Jenna Malone, who was born to play Johanna, and Elizabeth Banks as Effie.

effie-mockingjay-2

The issues I have with the movie are ultimately issues I have with the source material. The third book is a mess and the filmmakers can only do so much. In fact I think the film did a better job at explaining (if not a little overly so) a major event toward the end of the movie.

So at the end of the day “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2” is a good end to the film series. If you have enjoyed the previous films then you should go ahead and check it  out.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

