2015 Primetime Emmy Awards

I enjoy watching the Emmy Awards but they are not the Oscars, they aren’t the SAG Awards and they aren’t even the Golden Globe awards. In general the reason the Emmys don’t live up to those other award shows is the fact that the network hosting them all too often picks a host based on which one of their shows they choose to plug. Does anybody else remember else remember CBS picking Bryant Gumbel in 1997?

bryant_gumbel

Well, last night Andy Samberg sucked with a capital S as the Emmy host. For every good joke there were ten clunkers. Having Jane Lynch come out as Septa Unella was the best moment of the night in terms of comedy and that had more to do with her than with him.

Moving onto the awards. The Emmys have often been one of the most predicable awards shows. This was certainly shown this year on the comedy side with Allison Janney winning her 7th Emmy and Julia Louis Dreyfus winning her 6th. I don’t watch “Mom” so I can’t speak to whether Janney deserved her Emmy or not but it does seem like the Television Academy did that thing they do where they just get stuck in voting patterns for years at a time (see Candice Burgin pulling her name from consideration to give Helen Hunt a shot who in turn became the winner at least one too  many times).

2r2af06

I do love “Veep” and I feel like it’s gotten stronger over the years but the 4th Emmy win in a row for Julia Louis Dreyfus was just too much. The work Lisa Kudrow did on the second season of “The Comeback” (see my  blog  on the second season of that show: https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/the-comeback-season-2/) was way beyond anything Dreyfus did. I was happy to see “Modern Family” finally loose Best Comedy Series.

On the drama side I was very, very disappointed that Lena Heady didn’t win Best Supporting Actress.

got-finale_0

As much as I loathe Cersei, Lena did an amazing job this year. On the flip side I wasn’t really rooting for Peter Dinklage this year. He was fine and I like Tyrion but it wasn’t his best season. Ben Mendelsohn should have won for “Bloodline”. I adore Viola Davis and even though I don’t watch “How to Get Away with Murder” I was thrilled to see her become the first African American woman to win the Emmy for Best Actress in a drama. I can’t think of a better actress to deserve that distinction. However, I do have to admit was rooting for Robin Wright on “House of Cards”. I’m behind on “Mad Men” but I’m really happy Jon Hamm finally won his Emmy.

As for the award for Best Drama series. If you were voting on an entire season there is no way “Game of Thrones” should have been nominated. It was very inconsistent and it’s low points were so low that it nearly made my husband stop watching the show (see my blog on episode 6 where the show hit rock bottom: https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/the-comeback-season-2/). However, since Emmys are chosen based on episodes submitted I can see why the show was nominated and even why it won (see my  blog on the season finale, the episode for which it won: https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/game-of-thrones-season-5-episode-10-season-finale-and-the-end-of-the-line-for-the-source-matrial/).

Screenshot (9)

I’m glad that “Game of Thrones” has joined the ranks of shows like “Breaking Bad”, “Mad Men”, “ER” and “Picket Fences” as an Emmy Winner for Best Drama series but it’s a bittersweet win because despite high points like episodes 8 and 9 (see my blogs for those episodes: https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/game-of-thrones-season-5-episode-9/    https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2015/06/02/game-of-thrones-season-5-episode-8/) the season was a frustrating one.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

