Do I Sound Gay?

On the last Wednesday of July my husband and I went to see the documentary “Do I Sound Gay?”

do-i-sound-gay-poster-300x444

The idea of a gay voice is something that is very intriguing to me. Over the course of my life I’ve been mocked for having a gay voice but I’ve also been told that I have a deep voice that doesn’t sound gay at all. I often wonder which one is true? And does it really matter?

The question of whether I or any other gay man has a gay voice and how we feel about that is at the core of this documentary. As gay men we are in a very unique situation. As much acceptance as has been gained over the last ten to fifteen years there is still homophobia lurking around every turn. Inevitably some of this homophobia gets turned inside. As gay men do we hate our voices because part of use still hates ourselves for being gay? It is an anti-woman thing? Do we see ourselves as less manly if our voices aren’t deep and powerful? All of these things are addressed in the film.

I absolutely loved the film and it really made me think about my own attitude toward my voice. I know that there are tons of times when I camp it up and sounds supper gay but I also know that there are times when my voice is base and deep. Which one is my real voice? I think they both are. Like everybody else I code switch. I really think this film helped me come to terms with my voice. My voice is my voice and I don’t have to apologize for it. And I am very thankful for that.

The documentary is fantastic. I think it would be worth seeing for people who aren’t gay men. It think it gives just the briefest glimpse into the day to day world we have to navigate as a very specific minority. The film only got a very limited release but it absolutely worth checking out on DVD.

If you liked my bog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

