I’ll See You In My Dreams

I loathe Colin Hanks but Tom Hanks is one of my favorite actors of all time. I don’t like Bryce Dallas Howard but I think Ron Howard is a very gifted filmmaker. I have mixed feelings about Kate Hudson but I adore Goldie Hawn. Obviously, I have issues with the famous children of Hollywood Royalty even if I love their parents. The same holds true for the Paltrow family. I have always felt that Gwenyth Paltrow is extremely overrated in every way. Unless Emily Watson somehow manages to win an Oscar in that later part of her career I will go to my grave not forgiving Gwenyth for stealing a role from Winona Ryder and an Oscar that was much more deserved by Meryl Streep, Cate Blanchett and Emily Watson (Since Streep finally won her third Oscar three years ago and Blanchett has won two in the years since 1998 I think the two of them loosing the Paltrow has righted itself). Despite the fact that I have never liked Gwenth Patlrow I do like Blythe Danner; she just has a more earthy quality that her daughter has always lacked.

On Memorial Day I saw Ms. Danner in her very first lead role in a feature film in the delightfully funny and moving indie film called “I’ll See You In My Dreams”.
Post

In our youth obsessed society people are often pushed to the side as they reach their forties, fifties and beyond…especially women. That is why “I’ll See You In My Dreams” is such a treat. It shows the life of a woman who was long ago widowed but still has a lot of life to live. The film does a great job of showing the struggles of getting older and how difficult it is when it seems like everything that had defined your life is now in the past. This struggle is one of the challenges Carol (Danner) faces in the film. I think Carol’s story is very common. I know I saw many parallels between Carol and my own mother. My mom is divorced rather than widowed but they share a common story.

It doesn’t matter if you’re 15 or 70 it’s scary to try new thing and open yourself to new experiences. It’s so amazing to watch Carol push herself outside of her comfort zone. It’s also sad because no matter what age you or what experiences you’ve had life includes loss, and Carol certainly has to face loss in this film.

I'll see you in my dreams movie
I don’t want to go into specific plot pints and spoil the movie but I will say the film is a sweet and honest slice of life. It has romantic elements to it but it’s not a romantic film. It has funny elements to it but it’s not an outright comedy. It’s real and worth your time.

MV5BMTYzMzc5OTkyOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzc3OTMyNTE@__V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

The film has great supporting performances from Rhea Pearlman, Mary Kay Place, June Squibb and Sam Elliot. As great as the supporting performances are the film is all about Blythe Danner. It is literally the role she’s been waiting her whole life to play and she hits it out of the park. I really think that she has a shot at a Best Actress Oscar nomination if enough people see this movie. I hope they do. And you should be one of them.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

