2015 Oscars

When I wake up tomorrow I’ll have my annual day after the Academy Awards letdown. I love movies so much and I don’t care what anybody says I love the Oscars.

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

No matter what I always love the Oscars. They are always magic for me.

Tonight’s awards were no exception…There are always different aspects to focus on. First, I’ll focus on the big six awards.

As expected Patricia Arquette won Best Supporting Actress in “Boyhood”. I knew she was going to win, everybody knew she was going to win but I was brought to tears by her win. For an actress that got her start in “A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors” (which I love by the way) to beat (among others) Meryl Streep to become an Academy Award winning actress is beyond extraordinary. When I saw “Boyhood” last summer I predicted that her last scene should put her in contention for a Best Supporting Actress Oscar (see my review for proof https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/boyhood/) and I beyond thrilled that she wasn’t just nominated. She won!

1424663036463_cached

Her great speech calling for full gender equality was just the icing on the cake.

J.K. Simmons won Best Supporting Actor in “Whiplash” as everybody knew he would. He deserved it and his speech was excellent in his own way.

Alejandro G. Inarritu won best director for “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” as expected. Even though his win was predictable it was equally well deserved. What he pulled off with his film was really inventive and extraordinary.

I wasn’t 100% sure that Eddie Redmayne would pull out the win for “The Theory of Everything” when “Birdman” started winning several other awards but I was thrilled when he did. What was so great about his win (other than the fact is was deserved) was how excited he was has he grabbed his Oscar from Cate Blanchett.

4160-master-600-v1

A star is born!

In October 1997 I saw Julianne Moore in “Boogie Nights” and was blown away by her performance. She didn’t win an Oscar that year, losing to Kim Basinger in “L.A. Confidential”. Two years later she didn’t win for her excellent work in “The End of the Affair”, losing to Hillary Swank in “Boys Don’t Cry”.  Three years after that she was double nominated and lost twice. She lost Best Supporting Actress in “The Hours” to Catherine Zeta-Jones in “Chicago” and Best Actress in “Far from Heaven” to her co-star in “The Hours” Nicole Kidman. Twelve long years had passed without being nominated. In 2010 she was robbed of a nomination for “The Kids Are Alright”…But tonight was at long last her night. There are certain actors that just deserve to have Oscar Winner in front of their name and at long last Julianne Moore is one of them.

4315-master-600-v1

Her win once again brought be to tears.

I had predicted that “Boyhood” would win Best Picture but when the last award of the night arrived and Patricia Arquette was the only winner from that movie I figured the big prize would go to “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” and I was right. I don’t think it should have won. I ranked it 4th among the 8 nominees but I do appreciate the Academy shook off its conservative imagine.

As for the other awards…

I’m so happy Graham Moore won Best Adapted Screenplay for “The Imitation Game”. As a gay man I’m so glad that Alan Turing’s story has been told and celebrated. I was also extremely touched by his speech.

US-OSCARS-SHOW

When “The Lego Movie” came out last year I had no desire to see it. It was simply a ninety minute commercial for a toy. Then I heard that horrid song. “Everything is Awesome”…really? I get that it’s a kid’s movie and that’s fine but come on. How did that awful piece of shit get nominated for an Oscar?

Then the hosting duties…

I thought Neil Patrick Harris did a very good job. Let’s be honest hosting the Oscars is a tough gig. Over the years I thought that Billy Crystal did a good job a few times but the last two times seemed tired and boring. I think that Whoopi Goldberg did a great job her first three time and Jon Stewart was great the first time.

I liked how he celebrated the Oscars and didn’t mock them. I like how he embraced his gayness without alienating straight people. I liked his multiple wardrobe changes. I especially liked his “Birdman” tighty whities bit.

neil-patrick-harris-nph-underwear-oscars-2015-billboard-650

He wasn’t the best host ever but he was very good.

So tomorrow I’ll feel both let down and inspired. I love the Oscars, I always have and I always will.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

