Looking-Season 2-Episode 1

As I mentioned in my blog post from yesterday my husband and I re-watched the first season of “Looking” in anticipation of last night’s season 2 premiere (https://jeremyochsgonzales.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/a-second-look-at-looking-season-1/).

looking-2-poster-1-jpg

The show did not disappoint. I was so happy to see my boys again and as always I was left wishing the show was an hour instead of just thirty minutes.

Although no specific time frame was given for how much time had passed between the season 1 finale and the season 2 premiere my guess is about a month. In the episode the three leads Patrick (Jonathan Groff), Agustin (Frankie J. Alvarez) and Dom (Murray Bartlett) have left San Francisco behind for the weekend and are visiting the Russian River area.

lookingS2E1-542x360

Each of the characters has moved on ever so slightly from where they were at the end of last season.

Patrick is trying to get over Richie but clearly is struggling with it. Of course, the bigger thing that Patrick is struggling with is the fact that his office floor hook up with his boss, Kevin (Russell Tovey), has turned into a full-fledged affair.

russell-tovey-and-jonathon-groff-on-season-2-of-looking

During the weekend in the woods it’s clear that Patrick wants to be a good boy. He wants to stay in with his friends and not drink and hike and play board games. But then again is that what he really wants? It doesn’t take much convincing for him to change his tune to rolling on ecstasy and calling Kevin up to fuck him against a tree. I totally get what is going on with Patrick right now. He’s been a good boy most of his life and as much as he knows it’s wrong to have an affair with his boss who has a boyfriend he can’t help himself. The sex with Kevin has become like a drug, he almost can’t believe that is who he has become and he wants more. As hot as both sex scenes with Kevin have been I want Patrick to break away from him. In the long run nothing good can come out of that relationship.

Agustin has settled in a bit from his break up with Frank but not much. It seems as though he has continued to use a lot of drugs (he’s the one that brought the ecstasy to the woods, not to mention the pot he smokes) and has been hooking up a lot. At one point he expresses fear that Patrick and Dom have brought him to the woods for an intervention. That speaks to the fact that he knows he could be in need of an intervention, at least in some people’s eyes. Although Agustin didn’t do anything awful to anybody in this episode I didn’t find him anymore likeable than I did at the end of season one. I do think the writers are going to try to make him more likeable by having him get into a relationship with the new character of Eddie (Mean Girls’ Daniel Franzese) who is H.I.V. positive.

LOOKING SEASON 2 PROMISED LAND GAY AGUSTIN AND EDDIE REVIEW

Speaking of the introduction of Eddie…I’m happy Franzese is getting work and it’s good to have a bear on the show and an H.I.V. poz guy too. It will be interesting to see how they develop this character, especially in regard to the H.I.V. issue.

Dom is now in a relationship with Lyn but it’s an open one (as evidenced by Dom’s own hookup). I found this totally believable. Based on who Dom is and the laid back attitude Lyn showed in season 1 I could totally see the two of them having an open relationship, even early on.

Looking-trailer_612x380

As always Doris (Lauren Weedman) was a total hoot. Her portrayal of the aging fag hag is right on.

I really enjoyed the first episode of season two but I have a feel that next week is when the real drama will begin.

On a side note I’m happy that the Season 2 preview had mostly stuff from episode 1. I was worried it was full of spoilers for the season as a whole.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

2 thoughts on “Looking-Season 2-Episode 1

Leave a Reply

