What happens now?

I am at a bit of a crossroads with my writing. I’m not sure what to do next. My goal was to complete the third draft of my second book, which is divided into four parts, by the end of 2014. I met my goal last Monday. Now I’m left at a bit of an impasse.

My first book, titled “All Anyone Could Ask For”, has been revised seven times. I am planning on self-publishing it and I have scheduled an edit in May. That means that I have four months before anything moves forward in regard to that. I know that there are no guarantees in life but the biggest thing that has appealed to me about self-publishing is that I know no matter what I will be able to see my book printed. When I tell people that I’m a writer I will also be able to tell them where they can buy my book. One thing I don’t like about self-publishing is the cost. I suppose I could just throw my book out there, typos and all, but I don’t want to do that. I have done far too many things half-assed in my life. I know that if I am going to attract any kind of readership at all I need to get my book edited and get a professional cover done and all that costs money. The good news is that I have thrown of the shackles of two different expenses that cost me over $8,000 from August of 2012 through December of 2014. With those expenses gone I believe I can I can have “All Anyone Could Ask For” self-published by August.  But what until then?

While I wait for my book editing date to come I have decided to query some literary agents just for the sake of it. I don’t need an agent to self-publish but since that is on hold I’m figure there is no reason not to just put some feelers out there in terms of traditional publishing. I have decided to only approach agents who accept e-mail queries. My book edit in May is going to cost around $700 so I don’t want to spend a bunch of money on postage for queries.

But what else?

My second book, titled “Irish Eyes”, certainly could use a fourth draft but at this point I feel like I need to step away from it for a bit. I spent a year writing draft one and a year doing drafts two and three. I have thought about starting a new book. There is nothing like writing the first draft of something but I also want to spend more time focusing on this blog. There just aren’t enough hours in the day to do everything.

One thing I love about blogging is logging onto my stats page and seeing my views. There is something you can’t get while writing the first draft of something. But then again blogging doesn’t really fell that creative.

I want to do it all but I know if I split my efforts between queering agents, starting the first draft of a new book and blogging I might not spend enough time on any one thing to do it well.  What to do? What to do? I guess for today I’m focusing on my blog. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

