SAG & Golden Globe Nominations

I love the Golden Globe awards.

Golden Globe statues

It was the Golden Globes in January of 1992 when I first really got into awards shows at the age of 14. However, with each passing year it has become more and more obvious that the Screen Actors Guild Awards are the true indicator of who will get nominated, and win, the ultimate prize of an Academy Award when it comes to the acting categories; the fact that the SAG nominations how come out before the Golden Globe nominations only highlight this fact.

Both awards released their nominations last week. Here are my thoughts on all of the major film award categories, both what it means for the Oscars and how I feel about them.

Best Supporting Actress

It seems like Patricia Arquette in “Boyhood”, Keira Knightley in “The Imitation Game”, Emma Stone in “Birdman” and Meryl Streep in “Into the Woods” have already claimed four of the five nominations since they all got nominated for both the Golden Globe and SAG awards. I’ve seen three of these performances and I agree with the attention that Arquette, Knightley and Stone are getting for their performances. It seems very obvious at this point that Patricia Arquette is the favorite to win.

patricia

I’m sure I will see “Into the Woods” at some point and I’m sure Meryl Streep is great, as always. It really seems unreal that Streep could receive Oscar nomination number nineteen this year. That would put her seven nominations ahead of Katherine Hepburn and Jack Nicholson. In this category it seems the fight is for the fifth and final spot. Jessica Chastain in “A Most Violent Year” got the fifth spot at the Golden Globes and Naomi Watts in “St. Vincent” got it at the SAG Awards. As much as I love Jessica Chastain I’m rooting for Naomi Watts to get her third Oscar nomination.

ST. VINCENT

She was scene stealing and brilliant in “St. Vincent”. It was everything a supporting performance should be.

 

Best Supporting Actor

With Robert Duvall in “The Judge”, Ethan Hawke in “Boyhood”, Edward Norton in “Birdman”, Mark Ruffalo in “Foxcatcher” and J.K.Simmons in “Whiplash” all getting nominated for both the Golden Globes and the SAG awards t seems quite likely that we already know who the final five will be come Oscar time. However, I do wonder if Robert Duvall’s nominations are based on a great performance or based on the fact that he’s an aging Hollywood legend who may not have that many films left in him. Since I haven’t seen “The Judge” I can’t say for sure. I have seen Ethan Hawke’s and Edward Norton’s performances and between those two performances I am rooting for Hawke’ to join his co-star for another win for “Boyhood”.

ethan

 

 

birdman-movie-clip-1022014-084144

 

Best Actress

I think the musical or comedy nominations for the globes, with the possible exception of Amy Adams in “Big Eyes”, are just fillers. There is no way Emily Blunt in “Into the Woods”, Helen Mirren in “The Hundred-Foot Journey” and Quvenzhane Walllis in “Annie” are getting Oscar nominations out of those films. Julianne Moore is a virtual lock for her fifth Oscar nominations, and the favorite to win, but that is going to be for “Still Alice”, not “Maps to the Stars”. I think Felicity Jones in “The Theory of Everything”, Rosamund Pike in “Gone Girl” and Reese Witherspoon in “Wild” will be joining Moore come Oscar time.

rosamund-pike

I’ve seen “The Theory of Everything” and “Gone Girl” and I enjoyed both performances and they are difficult to choose from, but at the end of the day even without yet seeing “Still Alice” I’m rooting for Julianne Moore to at long last win her Oscar. Like Best Supporting Actress the battle here is for the fifth and final spot. Will it be Jennifer Aniston in “Cake” with her first Oscar nomination or Amy Adams with her sixth? My money is on Jennifer Aniston, but just barely

 

Best Actor

I think Steve Carell in “Foxcatcher”, Benedict Cumberbatch in “The Imitation Game”, Michael Keaton in “Birdman” and Eddie Redmayne in “The Theory of Everything” are locks for an Oscar nomination. Who will get the fifth spot? Jake Gyllenhaal in “Nightcrawler” seems like the likely favorite since he got the fifth spot at the SAG Awards, but I do think David Oyelow in Selma” has a shot if that film can generate some buzz in the next few weeks. Bill Murray is also a serious threat if there is a wave of support for “St. Vincent”. As much as I love, and lust, Jake Gyllenhaal I would prefer to see Bill Murray sneak in there for the fifth spot for his second Oscar nominations.

zff_zurich_film_festival_bill_murray_st_vincent-590x300

Of the performances I’ve seen (Cumberbatch, Keaton, Redmayne, Gyllenhaal and Murray) I think it’s a close battle between Cumberbatch and Redmayne for the best performance. I think I slightly prefer Redmayne’s performance.

 

Best Picture

“Birdman”, “Boyhood”, “The Imitation Game” and “The Theory of Everything” are givens for Best Picture. With up to six more films possibly nominated the question is who could possibly sneak in there? I’m thinking “Foxcatcher”, “Selma”, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” are all strong contenders. I think “Into the Woods” could get in there if the reviews and box office are strong. My dark horse is “St. Vincent” but that would only happen if there is a ground swell of support for Bill Murray and Naomi Watts”. Of all of these films I’ve seen “Birdman”, “Boyhood”, “The Imitation Game”, “The Theory of Everything”, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” and “St. Vincent”. I can’t for the life of me understand why anybody would think “The Grand Budapest Hotel” is worthy of any kind of Oscar nomination. The film I think is the most worthy of the big prize is “Boyhood”.

untitled

Two things are certain in this year’s Oscar race; “Exodus” is a total Oscar dud and I’ll be watching every step of the way.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

