The Imitation Game

On Saturday night my husband and I went to see “The Imitation Game”.

The-Imitation-Game-Final-Poster

When I was growing up and well into my thirties I found World War Two one of the most fascinating events in human history. However, in the last few years I’ve grown a little tired of World War Two movies, especially the ones that show battles. That is probably why I haven’t see “Fury”. Yet, as much as I’ve tired of the battles of World War Two movies I am still very interested in the human drama that surrounded it. That is why “The Imitation Game” was so interesting to me.

If you are not familiar with the plot line of the film it is about Alan Turing, wonderfully played by Benedict Cumberbatch, who was responsible for building the machine that broke the Nazi code known as Enigma during world war two.

the-imitation-game-uk-teaser-trailer

Although that is the main plot line that drives the film forward there is also drama because Turing was a very awkward genius who also happened to be a homosexual. The movie is excellent because it has enough of the military aspect of World War two while still really being about the people behind the scenes.

As I mentioned before Benedict Cumberbatch is fantastic as Alan Turing. He creates a character that is very much self-assured in his intellect but at the same time is very awkward in his interpersonal relationships.

tumblr_n92l5pLgTP1r1eamko2_500

His social awkwardness is only further heightened by the fact that he is hiding the secret that his is gay in a time when being discovered as a homosexual could destroy your life.

I used to hate Keira Knightley but ever since 2007’s “Atonement” she has shown me that when she decides to be an actress instead of a movie star she is amazing.

knight

This performance is great and it really shows her fantastic versatility after this summer’s “Begin Again”. Charles Dance can play the villain in his sleep but that’s because he’s so good at it.

A5

I have to admit that I was hoping Allen Leech would turn out to be Benedict Cumberbatch’s secret lover and I’d get to see him sans clothes but alas I had to settle for a nice performance in a supporting role.

75

The movie made me grateful to be a gay man in the year 2014 instead of seventy years ago. I also made me very angry that the accomplishments of my gay ancestors have been buried and they were persecuted. In addition to the human drama, the war drama and the gay persecution storyline the film also shows how the ground work for the Cold War was being laid before World War 2 came to an end. It also poses the interesting philosophical question of is it okay to sacrifice a smaller number of lives in the short run to save a bigger number of lives in the long run?

I highly recommend this movie. I think Benedict Cumberbatch will get nominated for an Oscar but there is no need to wait until January to see it. If it is at a theatre near you go check it out as soon as you can.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

Leave a Reply

