Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Last night I went to see “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”.

birdman

I grew up with the movies of Michael Keaton. From “Mr. Mom” to “Clean and Sober” to “Batman Return” and of course “Beetlejuice” he made so many movies when I was a kids that I was sad when his career suddenly dropped off in the mid 90’s.

Beetlejuice

I was excited to find out he had made a movie that was getting so much buzz and of course the Meta element of an actor who used to play a superhero playing an actor who used to play a superhero was both amusing and intriguing. The movie is very good. It is interesting and funny. The best part of the movie is how director Alejandro González Iñárritu has made the entire film feel like one long shot.

inarritu

I have never seen a movie like that and even if the story and performances had sucked the amazing directing and editing job would have made the film worth seeing. Fortunately, it’s more than just the one shot gimmick that makes the film good. Michael Keaton is given a great role here and he really knocks it out of the park.

75

Edward Norton as his foil is also quite good. birdman-movie-clip-1022014-084144

Not only is Edward Norton good all the supporting actors are good; Emma Stone (playing the most grown up edgy role I’ve seen her in to date), Naomi Watts (who is having a great fall with both this and “St. Vincent”), Amy Ryan and an almost unrecognizable Zach Galifianakis. As much as I liked the performances and the amazing direction there was one part of the film that I didn’t like. I really didn’t like the whole thing that Michael Keaton’s character might really have super powers. I feel like that was just a distraction and not needed. That aside I found the movie very entertaining and smart. It has a lot to say about fame, movies vs. theatre, the media, youth and (a term I hate) what it means to be relevant.

Birdman-thumb-6-3

If you like the actors involved, the director or independent films it would be worth your time and money to see “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

2 thoughts on “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Leave a Reply

