Interstellar

In the spring of 2001 I was blown away by a movie called “Memento” from a little known filmmaker named Christopher Nolan. MV5BMTc4MjUxNDAwN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDMwNDg3OA@@__V1_SX640_SY720_ I was amazed with not only his style but with how the film played with the idea of time flow and memory. I have enjoyed all of Christopher Nolan’s films since then but I haven’t loved them. I think the Dark Knight trilogy is great for what it is but at the end of the day I do feel it is overrated.

dark_knight_trilogy_posters_by_umbridge1986-d5111uh

I felt that “Inception” tried too hard to be clever and at the end of the day ended up being a convoluted mess. I remember walking out of “Inception” four years ago and only remembering the load booming score. So on Saturday night when my husband and I went to see “Interstellar” I went in with mixed feelings.

Interstellar_ALT_Artowrk

I kept the idea of what Christopher Nolan can do in my head and I was also looking forward to some good acting from Anne Hathaway and Jessica Chastain. I DID NOT see the film for Mathew McConaughey, just for the record. I am happy to say the movie exceeded my expectations.

This was Christopher Nolan at this best. christopher-nolan11

The film is smart, it has a great environmental message (I did have an issue with one line of dialogue that was a little too manifest destiny for my tastes) and it used special effects to enhance the story rather than overshadow it. What I liked so much about this movie is it plays with the idea of time and memory a la “Memento” but it very original. There are time travel elements to it and whenever you start dealing with time travel you almost always end up with paradoxes. This film has several paradoxes and I wish there was a way to avoid that trap but I feel like if you go into a movie that involves time travel (the Terminator franchise and “Twelve Monkeys” come to mind as other examples) you kind of have to just suck it up and suspend you disbelief. The performances were all excellent. I do feel that Mathew McConaughey has shown that his performance in “Dallas Buyer’s Club” was not a fluke.

interstellar-trailer

Between this and the (overrated) “True Detective” he has shown that he is here to stay in this new incarnation as a dramatic actor. Anne Hathaway is good as well. I kept waiting for Jessica Chastain to show up and when she did I was surprised and happy with the character that she played. I think that she did (not surprisingly) the best acting job of the film.

Interstellar-Jessica-Chastain

There are a lot of well-known actors in the film in supporting roles; Michael Caine, John Lithgow and Casey Affleck among others. However, my two favorite of the smaller roles (that went unpublicized) came from two actors that I won’t mention by name but they are both Oscar winners and it was a pleasant surprise to see them both show up unexpectedly. I went into “Interstellar” skeptically but I came out really enjoying my nearly three hour movie experience. If you are a fan of Christopher Nolan, the actors involved, time travel stories, science fiction or astronomy it is very much worth your time and money to see this movie on the big screen. It just won’t be the same on your TV no matter what your set up at home is.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

One thought on “Interstellar

Leave a Reply

