Love is Strange

On Saturday night my husband and I went to see “Love is Strange”.

LOVE-IS-STRANGE-final-small

Although it was a good movie I have to admit that I was disappointed. I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting but I guess at the end of the day I thought I would be move moved by the story. That isn’t to say it isn’t worth seeing, it is, it just wasn’t as good as I was hoping it would be.

The storyline of “Love is Strange” is as follows. A gay couple Ben (John Lithgow) and George (Alfred Molina) get married after being together for almost forty years (my husband and I were together for just under seven years when we got married so I can only imagine what it would have been like for this couple go literally go through a lifetime while not being fully recognized by their government).

LOVE-IS-STRANGE

After their honeymoon George is fired from his positon at a Catholic High School (this has happened in real life in places ranging from California to Pennsylvania) and the couple is forced to sell their New York City apartment and live with different friends and family while they search for a way to get their life on track. While they are separated each of them face different challenges in a daily life that no longer includes the other one.

What I liked about the movie was that it was simple. It was a nice slice of life drama; it was just a touch too slow to be great.

I also greatly enjoyed the performances. Alfred Molina is rock solid.

LOVE IS STRANGE

Marisa Tomei gives yet another one of her great supporting performances.

love-is-strange-marisa

The performance I enjoyed the most was from John Lithgow.

tn-tn-gnp-et-0830-film-5-jpg-20140829

He has spent far too much of his career playing villains. He is very good at playing villains but he is capable of other types of roles. He is a two time Oscar nominee for “The World According to Garp” opposite the late and great Robin Williams and “Terms of Endearment” oppose the fantastic Debra Winger.

968full-the-world-according-to-garp-photo untitled

Neither of those roles were villains. I’m glad he gets to stretch and show something else in this movie.

I did like that the movie touched how gay life is different depending on your age. I also enjoyed the dueling artist relationship between Tomei and Lithgow.

The ending of the movie really made me think of the challenges of any relationship. No matter how things look from the outside each relationship has its ups and downs and it’s only from the inside that you know how much you’ve fought for it as you reach each new anniversary.

Despite being a little too slow I do think this movie is worth seeing, maybe just not in the theatre.

If you liked my blog entry please it and like my facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/jeremyogonzales

 

Leave a Reply

