When the end of your vacation collides with the middle of somebody else’s

Today after I dropped my mom off at LAX so she could fly home following our trip to Peru I had an interesting experience. I was already feeling a bit of vacation hang over blue when I got stuck behind three tour vans. I found this interesting because as the last tiny bit of my vacation was coming to an end I found myself confronted with people who are in the middle of their own vacation. The difference is their vacation happens to be taking place in the city in which I live.

I think we all have had the experience of visiting a place and finding it amazing and wanting to live there. I certainly had that experience in 1993 when I visited Los Angeles as a fifteen year old high school student. Then in 2001 at the age of twenty-three I made Los Angeles my home and I’ve been here, for better or worse, ever since.

Those tour vans were filled with people enjoying vacations they probably spend a year or more saving for. There were probably people on those vans that had dreamed their whole lives of visiting Los Angeles and will probably never return. For them today sitting in those tour vans today was a once in a lifetime experience. Just like a week ago as I slept in the Andes Mountains on the Inca trail was a once in a lifetime experience for me.

It’s so odd to think that no matter where you go it’s somebody’s home. Whether it’s Lima, Peru of Los Angeles, California there are people that just live there at the same time there are people experiencing a dream come true just by visiting that place.

I guess this is something I’ve always known but to have it so clearly in my face today really made me appreciative of the city I live in, sad my vacation is over and connected to a larger human experience.

Leave a Reply

