6 Weeks to Peru

Preparing for my trip to Peru and Machu Picchu has been a long road and with my departure date six weeks away I worry that I won’t be ready.

I began slowly training for it last August. Over these months I’ve slowly increased the incline on the treadmill. At the beginning I began at 0.0 and slowly moved up each minute on my thirty minute workout. I now start my workout at 13.0 and go up and down from 13.0 to the max of 15.0. I feel like my legs can walk on a steep include but I worry about my endurance. This trip will require way more from me than walking thirty minutes on a treadmill.

I’ve tried to incorporate some outdoor stair climbing. There is a set of stairs built into a hill near my apartment in West Los Angeles.

Image

I’ve started focusing on these stairs about once a week. I climb them about six or seven times. I climb every other step. Still, I feel like I need to be doing this for an hour or two, not for thirty minutes.

I am also concerned about adjusting to the elevation of the Andes. I grew up in the Colorado Rockies.

Image

But I know that won’t mean any thing next month because I’ve lived at the sea level of Los Angeles for almost thirteen years.

Image

I am planning at least three trips up to the San Gabriel Mountains in the last month before my trip to try to get used to being at a higher elevation.

Image

Then there is the language issue. I am a big believer in that it is wrong to go to a country and not at least try to speak the language of the citizens. I found that the French were in fact very polite when you try to speak French to them.

Image

And then grouchy Germans will smile at you when you give their language a try.

Image

For years I’ve been trying to learn Spanish. I know my Spanish is better than it was five years ago but it’s nowhere near where my French was when I went to France and even that wasn’t where I want it to be. I very much want to be able to communicate in Spanish while in Peru but I know I can’t work miracles. All I can do is fit in my two hours a week of Rosetta Stone and listen to my Spanish lessons at the gym while I walk at steep incline.

I know my trip will be amazing but I also know it will be very different than my recent trips to Europe.

 

Leave a Reply

