The highs and lows of March 27, 2010

March 27, 2010 was both a high point and a low point in my life.

Despite four road trips into Mexico I had never flown internationally before and on that day I was thrilled to break in my new passport with an extended weekend  British Columbia.

Image

I had always wanted to visit Canada and I was thrilled to be there. Unfortunately, about an hour after checking into my hotel room I received a text message from my sister informing me that my Grandmother had passed away.

I tried to make the most of my trip to Vancouver and Whistler but a dark cloud hung over a trip I had been planning for several months.

Looking back It seems so unreal that two very important events in my life could be so directly linked.

My arrival in Canada marked the beginning of my international adventures.

Image

Since that fateful trip I have been lucky enough to travel to Spain, Andorra, France, Luxembourg and Germany and this June I will make my first trip to South America when I travel to Peru to hike the Machu Picchu trail.

I often think of my grandmother on my travels. When I was in Spain in 2011 I went to El Escorial on Good Friday. I thought of her and how much she would have appreciated being in such a catholic place two days before Easter.

Image

And when I was at Notre Dame Church in Paris, again on Good Friday, I wished that she was still alive so I could have gotten her a rosary from that famous church.

Image

I have been so blessed with my travels but when I leave on a trip I’m always reminded that life gives and takes away. Life gave me Canada (and much more) but on the same day life took away a vital member of my family.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

